Cana Island Lighthouse was constructed in 1869 and was the tallest brick structure in Door County at the time. Today the 89-foot tower is open to visitors, who can climb the 97 steps of the tower’s spiral staircase to the gallery deck, which offers panoramic views of Lake Michigan and the Door Peninsula.
To reach Cana Island, visitors can walk across the shallow causeway between the island and peninsula or ride a tractor-drawn wagon. Waterproof boots or footwear is recommended if you choose to walk across. Cana Island is open daily from May through October.
The Door County Maritime Museum & Lighthouse Preservation Society, Inc. preserves Great Lakes maritime history, primarily focusing on Door County, Wisconsin, and provides interpretive and educational opportunities for current and future generations. The Museum operates three locations, including the Door County Maritime Museum along the working waterfront in Sturgeon Bay; the iconic Cana Island Lighthouse in Baileys Harbor; and the Death’s Door Maritime Museum in Gills Rock. As one of northeast Wisconsin’s top tourism destinations, attracting more than 70,000 visitors annually, the Door County Maritime Museum serves as a cultural and educational resource for all 72 counties in Wisconsin.